Get out and vote: Primary Election Day is on August 9

August 4 F Vote logo C

By Eileen O’Grady

Primary Election Day is coming up on Tuesday, August 9, which means that it is time to narrow down the candidates for some of Vermont’s top positions.

On the ballot this year are candidates for U.S. Senator, U.S. House of Representatives, governor, lieutenant governor, state senator, state representative, state treasurer, secretary of state, auditor of accounts, attorney general, and high bailiff.

The candidate selected from each party will be entered into the race and be decided on in the November 1 general elections. In addition to the statewide candidates, Charlotte and Hinesburg residents will also vote for state representatives from their individual towns.

On August 9, Charlotte residents can vote in Charlotte Central School’s multi-purpose room at 408 Hinesburg Road. Polls are open from 7:00am to 7:00pm.
Hinesburg residents can vote at the Hinesburg Town Hall (10632 Route 116), where polls are open from 7:00am to 7:00pm. Voters will select either a Democratic, a Republican or a Progressive ballot to complete.

Charlotte or Hinesburg Residents who are unable to vote on August 9 can order an absentee ballot to be mailed to them by filling out the absentee ballot application in their town clerk’s office. Absentee ballots are also available on the town clerk’s websites. Absentee ballots are accepted up until the day before Primary Election Day.

Primary candidates:
U.S. Senator
Patrick Leahy (D), Middlesex
Cris Ericson (D), Chester
Scott Milne (R), Pomfret

U.S. House of Representatives
Peter Welch (D), Norwich

Matt Dunne (D), Hartland
Cris Ericson (D), Chester
Peter Galbraith (D), Townshend
Sue Minter (D), Waterbury
H. Brooke Paige (D), Washington
Phil Scott (R), Berlin
Bruce M. Lisman (R), Shelburne

Lieutenant Governor
Randy Brock (R), Swanton
Kesha Ram (D), Burlington
Shap Smith (D), Morristown
David Zuckerman (D), Hinesburg
Boots Wardinski (P), Newbury

VT State Senator (choose up to six)
Tim Ashe (D), Burlington
Phil Baruth (D), Burlington
Nick Cook (D), Jericho
Dawn Ellis (D), Burlington
Faisal Gill (D), Winooski
Debbie Ingram (D), Williston
Virginia “Ginny” Lyons (D), Williston
Louis Meyers (D), Williston
Christopher A. Pearson (D), Burlington
David Scherr (D), Burlington
John C. Gifford (R), Milton
Michael Sirotkin (D), South Burlington

VT State Representative
Charlotte: Mike Yantachka (D), Charlotte
Hinesburg: Bill Lippert (D), Hinesburg

VT State Treasurer
Richard M. Dunne (D), Burlington
Beth Pearce (D), Barre City

VT Secretary of State
Jim Condos (D), Burlington

Auditor of Accounts
Dan Feliciano (R), Essex
Doug Hoffer (D), Burlington

Attorney General
Deborah “Deb” Bucknam (R), Walden
T.J. Donovan (D), South Burlington
H. Brooke Paige (D), Washington

High Bailiff
Daniel L. Gamelin (D), Burlington