Charlotte voters approve fire pumper purchase, re-elect Selectboard incumbent in Town Meeting voting

Serving in his capacity on the board of civil authority, Greg Cluff collects paper ballots with a smile during the revote on Article IV. Photo by Chea Waters Evans

During day-long voting, Charlotte voters approved the purchase of a new $625,000 fire pumper truck and related equipment.

The vote to approve the bond was 581 to 249.

Longtime town moderator Jerry Schwarz received a handmade gavel for his service.

In other races, Selectboard incumbent Fritz Tegatz won re-election to a three-year term, receiving 549 votes to  Ed Stone’s 219. Stone was successful in his bid to be Town and School District Moderator.

In the Selectboard race for a two-year term, Frank Tenney received 450 votes, while Seth Zimmerman got 301.

Nancy Menard expressed concerns on the Friendship Lodge tax exemption. Photos by Chea Waters Evans.

In other town races, Moe Harvey was unopposed in his bid for a three-year term as Lister, receiving 623 votes.

Mary Mead was unopposed in her bid to for a one-year terms as Delinquent Tax Collector, earning 604 votes.

Hugh Lewis, Jr. returns for a one-year term as Road Commissioner. He was unopposed, receiving 751 votes.

Nan Mason was successful in her quest for a five-year term as Library Trustee, receiving 707 votes.

Jennifer Cole outlasted challenger Allen Ash for a three-year term as Auditor. Cole got 589 votes, while Ash received 129.

Chris Falk was unopposed for a three-year term as Cemetery Commissioner, receiving 642 votes. Victoria Zulkoski  was unopposed in her bid for a two-year term as Cemetery Commissioner, and Susan Ohanian received 652 votes in her unopposed quest for a one-year term as Cemetery Commissioner.

On the school side, Susan Nostrand received 626 votes in her unopposed bid for a three-year term as Charlotte Central School Director.

Erik Beal returns for a two-year term as Charlotte School Director. He received 621 votes in his unopposed bid.

Sue Thibault won a one-year term as Central School Director, receiving 646 votes.

Incumbent Lorna Jimerson got 637 votes in her unopposed re-election bid for a three-year term as a Champlain Valley Union High School Director.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.