Hinesburg passes bond for new town highway garage

Voters checking in at CVU before Town Meeting. Photo by Boston Neary

By a vote of 773 to 528, Hinesburg voters approved a $3,100,000 bond earmarked for construction of a new Town Highway Garage during Town Meeting daylong polling.

Hinesburg voters also chose Merrily Lovell, ousting Selectboard incumbent Michael Bissonette for a three-year term. Lovell received 729 votes, while Bissonette earned 634 ballots.

The other Selectboard race for a two-year term pitted incumbent Andrea Morgante against Veronica “Roni” Estey.  Morgante outlasted her challenger, netting 820 votes, while Estey claimed 542.

Voters also chose Melissa Ross for a three-year term as Town Clerk, giving her 1,313 votes and also chose Ross for the Town Treasurer post. She received 1,296 votes for a three-year term.

Frank Twarog was successful in his bid to return as Town Moderator, earning 1,172 votes. Glenn A. Place received 1,180 votes, capturing a three-year term as Cemetery Trustee and Gill Coates was unopposed in his bid for a three-year term as Peck Estate Trustee.

Katherine Kjelleren, Paul Lamberson and Harmony Cism also received voter endorsement for three-year terms as Library Trustees.

On the school side, voters also selected Shayla Fox Livingston as a Hinesburg Community School Director to serve the remaining year of a two-year term. William Baker III was unopposed in his bid for a two-year term as a Hinesburg Community School Director, and Stacy Riley received 1,017 votes for a three-year term as a Hinesburg Community School Director.

Incumbent Lia Cravedi handily won re-election, receiving 1,050 votes for a three-year term as Champlain Valley Union High School Director.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.