Hinesburg Community School graduates 44 eighth graders

Photo by Lauren Milideo
Principal Suzan Locke hands Addison Schmidt his certificate. Below, a detail from the banner signed by younger students to the graduates.

The gym at Hinesburg Community School was decked out last Thursday night for eighth-grade graduating class members, their teachers, families and friends.

Lights and tulle adorned the walls and basketball hoops as the 44 graduates filled the stage.

Principals Jeffrey O’Hara and Suzan Locke saluted the class of 2018 and sent students on to high school with messages about kindness and honesty.

Student speakers Phoebe Dennison and Addison Schmidt shared thoughts about the importance of community with their fellow graduates. Graduates enjoyed a round of applause as they accepted awards and diplomas.

Following the ceremony, the crowd gathered in the lunchroom-turned-ballroom for a reception followed by a dance for the graduates.

Photos by Lauren Milideo
The eighth grade singers serenaded their classmates with the song “Good-bye.” Left to right, front: Silas VanVranken, Brodie Cardinal, Liz Charney, Trinity Nye, Ruby Volzer, Brodie Cardinal; left to right, back: Cody O’Neil, Eva Frazier, Maddison Russell, Myles Peterson.
Below, members of the eighth grade class offered words of wisdom to their schoolmates on a banner.

Hanging outside the gym door were two large banners with handwritten messages both for the graduates from the school community, and from graduates to their younger friends, teachers and staff they are leaving behind.

From the younger students to their graduating friends came well-wishes such as “Thanks for being an inspiration for all of us. We will miss you.” And hopes for the future at CVU: “Hopefully lunch is good there.”
From the graduates came practical tips such as: “Get a top locker,” “Join student council,” and “Try a new sport.” The newly minted freshman also had some sage advice: “It’s eighth grade. Chill.” “Be nice to everybody.”

Click here for a list of awards.

Eighth Grade Class of 2018
Vivienne Babbott
Patrick Bilodeau
Ethan Bryce
Brodie Cardinal
Elizabeth Charney
Oliver Cobden
Caille Comeau
MyKeal Currier
Alena Curtis
Koy Denis
Phoebe Dennison
Sachi Depot
Ryann Estey
Evan Ferrara
Eva Frazier
Gregory Goldsmith
Kai Hillier
Leif Jurgenson
Jakob LaBelle
Aden LaGro
Emily Lang
Zachary Loftus
Zander McClain
Jasmine Nails
Marin Napoliello
Trinity Nye
Cody O’Neil
Skyler Paya
Myles Peterson
Jake Potter
Donovan Richardson
Fiona Robertson
Maddison Russell
Addison Schmidt
Olivia St. Peter
Chloe Stidsen
Kali Turner
Mia Twarog
Silas VanVranken
Norah VanVranken
Ruby Volzer
Ryan Walker
Ryan Winegar
Tyler Wuthrich

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.