CVU students among Vermont Presidential Scholar nominees

The Vermont Agency of Education this week recognized 30 Vermont Presidential Scholar nominees in a ceremony at the Vermont Statehouse and among them are four Champlain Valley Union seniors.

Nicole Eaton and Justin Schaaf were selected as General Presidential Scholars, Emily Friedrichsen as an Arts Presidential Scholar, and Jimmy Jiang as a Career Technical Education scholar.

The Vermont Presidential Scholars Program recognizes graduating high school seniors who show outstanding scholarship, leadership and service to their communities. Twenty are nominated in the general category, five are nominated in the Career Technical Education category and, for the first time this year, Vermont will award five scholars in the arts.

The nominees for the general and technical categories are invited to apply to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, which announces winners in May.

Each year, up to 161 students are named as national Presidential Scholars – one of the highest honors for high school students.

Leave a Reply

Shelburne News requires that you use your full name, along with a valid email address. Your email address will not be published, shared, or used for promotional purposes. Please see our guidelines for posting for full details.